Cookies používáme ke zlepšení našich zkušeností na našich stránkách. Pokud budete nadále používat tyto stránky, předpokládáme, že jste rádi, že obdržíte všechny soubory cookie. Přečtěte si naše zásady cookie, abyste se dozvěděli více.

Search Order

Czech (Čeština)

Třebíč, the town of UNESCO monuments is situated in West Moravia, on the southeast tip of the Vysočina region. Třebíč lies on both banks of the river Jihlava. The beginnings of the town are connected to a remarkable Benedictine monastery which was founded by Moravian princes in 1101. Owing to the rich history of the town, visitors can admire a lot of valuable monuments; the most notable ones, the Basilica of St. Procopius , the Jewish Quarter and the Jewish Cemetery are included in the prestigious UNESCO’s list of world cultural and natural heritage.

To Třebíč by Car

It is possible to arrive to Třebíč from five main directions: from the West from Jihlava, from the North from Velké Meziříčí and Žďár nad Sázavou, from the East from Náměšť nad Oslavou and Brno, from the South from Znojmo and from the South-East from Dukovany and Moravský Krumlov.
Třebíč is connected with the Highway D1 near Velké Meziříčí by the side road No. 360. It is also connected with the regional capital of Jihlava by the side road No. 405 which turns off the road 1/23. You can hire a car in RUNWELL rent a car in Prague and visit not only Trebic, but nearest UNESCO town Telč. 

runwellrentacar trebic

Some historical facts about jews in Trebic

1338 The first report on presence of Jews in Třebíč or its vicinity (in the so-called Nuremberg martyrology). The population and the place of the settlement (Podklášteří?) of the Jewish community are not known.
1410 The municipal book of Jihlava contains a statement of Jan, a son of Zdenek of Brno, who confessed that back once, he retained a Jew (or Jews) in Třebíč. Based on this record, existence of a Jewish community could be assumed in Třebíč or its vicinity (Podklášteří?) even close before the Hussite revolution. In this year, the Jewish town was despoiled during the fights between sons of Karl IV, Prokop and Jost, on whose side Třebíč stood.
1723 The time of formal constitution of the Jewish ghetto in Podklášteří. Johann Josef of Waldstein ordered the Christian housekeepers whose houses were located inside the Jewish estate to exchange their properties with the Jews owning houses in the Christian built-up area.

trebic cemetery

Jewish cemetery

One of the largest and best preserved Jewish cemeteries in the Czech Republic, which was used till lately. It is located on the northern side of the Hrádek elevation. A long winding path ascends to the cemetery. Historical documents first mention it, although indirectly, in 1636 in connection with the manor’s order about burials of outlying Jews. According to present knowledge, the oldest gravestone dates back to 1625, and the cemetery emerged shortly before.The location of the medieval Jewish cemetery is not known. (The tradition puts it near the Benedictine Monastery, today’s castle, in the area east of the fortification walls.) Left of the entrance to the Jewish cemetery is a Baroque kijor, a ritual lavatory, donated by Isaak Aaron and his wife Gela in 1716. 

trebic Jewish cemetery

Rear (New) Synagogue

In the period documents, it is also denoted as New Synagogue, New School, High Synagogue or Upper Oratory. Although the Rear Synagogue has many Renaissance elements, it was built as late as 1669 or shortly before. The efforts of the Jewish community to enhance the facility failed because the lord decided to refuse the request and ordered to demolish the building.

trebic rentacar1

Front (Old) Synagogue

The Front Synagogue was built on the western edge of the later ghetto near the oldest Jewish houses in Podklášteří probably in 1639 – 1642. Its appearance was largely affected by later repairs and reconstructions. For instance, in 1759, the roof damaged by a fire was restored.
The synagogue was quickly and well repaired after the great fire which engulfed the Jewish community in 1821 because already in the following year, the price of the synagogue was estimated to 3000 florins.Substantial reconstructions were done in 1857, when, in consequence of a fire in the previous year, reconstruction in „Gothic Revival“ style was completed, whereby the original entrance from the southern side was relocated to the western side. In the late 1850s, the capacity of the male section of the synagogue was 114 seats, the female part had 80 seats. Other reconstructions did not much affect the appearance of the synagogue. Since the early 1950s, the building of the Front Synagogue has been used by the Czechoslovak Hussite Church.

Jewish Museum Seligmann Bauer´s House

The Seligmann Bauer´s House neighbouring the New Synagogue has an interesting history, because of its building development and its complicated ownership relations. This house belongs to the younger ones in the ghetto, even though its origin dates back to the turn of the 17th and 18th century. You can have a look at the exposition of a typical Jewish household.
The most extraordinary element is the staircase directly connected with the gallery for women in the synagogue. The staircase has been preserved up to the present time, as well as the entrance to the gallery.
Due to very strict rules in Jewish quisine, there were places in the Jewish quarter that produced ritual suitable (kosher) meat. The part of the tour is now kosher butcher in the back yard.1939 – 1945 Time of German Nazi occupation that was mainly fatal for Jews.1939 – 1945 Time of German Nazi occupation that was mainly fatal for Jews.

museum trebic1

Basilica of St. Prokopius 

An abbey church, originally sacred to Virgin Mary, was under construction from the early 13th century as a part of the Benedictine Monastery founded in 1101. The basilica belongs to gems of medieval architecture of European importance. It was built in Romanesque Style with Gothic elements. The building was damaged during siege operations of the Hungarian army of Matthias Corvinus in 1468. Restoration by architect Kaňka in the years 1725 – 1731, discovery of a gateway in 1862, restoration by Kamil Hilbert in 1924 – 1935 and connection of the main nave to the crypt in 1998 have formed today’s appearance of the unique monument.

trebic rentacar

(с) www.visittrebic.eu

Foto RUNWELL rent-a-car 

Pin It

© All rights reserved  PLATFORMA s.r.o.